“Oh my god, I’m going to be a father!”

After getting to know that I’m pregnant and in the time before the first ultrasound, my husband is anxious. The doctor has told us that we have to monitor the progress and that chances are the egg would nest in the wrong place. This and the fact that miscarriages are highest in the first trimester of pregnancy makes us both anxious. Also, this is a first time and we don’t know what will await us. But in comparison to Y, I do feel my body change and the most pessimistic outlook on what might happen during this very early stage of pregnancy can not change the fact that I just feel pregnant.

The 7th week of pregnancy is when Y and I go to the hospital to do the first ultrasound. We have gotten a positive pregnancy test two weeks earlier. When I get the prints of the ultrasound, Y and I look at them. For a lay person, this ultrasound doesn’t tell anything, but for Y and me, it is assurance enough: The egg has found the right spot.

When we are waiting at the bus stop a little later, Y starts to realise: “Oh my god, I’m going to be a father!” And while waiting for the bus, he’s singing, jumping around and laughing. I am laughing too, about his joy over the surprising fact that he is going to be a father.

Have you ever been in a similar situation? I’d love to read your stories.

Share the love and follow me on facebook, twitter or google+.

16 thoughts on ““Oh my god, I’m going to be a father!”

  1. Congratulations!
    It is kind of terrible to hear all about what can go wrong when you are pregnant but especially in China they have to check carefully every possibiltiy as the miscarriage rate and infant death rate is incredibly high due to the environment and often unsufficient medical care + some Chinese traditonal care contradicting modern medicine.
    But all in all, if you eat healty, stay fit and be positive, you will have a fine baby 🙂

    P.S. When we had first ultrasound during the second pregnancy month I was also a very happy future dad 🙂

    Like

    • And probably because there are so many smokers around! I think another reason they check carefully is because of the one-child policy – most people want to make sure they give birth to a healthy child (not that lab tests are 100% accurate, but it still gives parents-to-be some assurance I guess).

      Good that there are some more happy dads out there – one guy told my husband that he doesn’t really feel anything for his baby after it was born, which is quite sad.

      Like

  2. Pingback: “Oh my god, I’m going to be a father!” | Shenzhen Writers Circle

  3. Since both my husband and I are in our early twenties – we have the opposite thing. The first day of my period, he’s always like “YAY! We’re not parents (yet)”

    We both LOVE children and babysit his nieces and nephews – but financially and emotionally, we aren’t ready for children yet. I do LOVE reading other stories from women who are pregnant though 🙂

    Like

    • If this had happened to me in my early twenties I probably also wouldn’t have considered myself ready, but then maybe we never are completely ready for a big change like that (what I’m meaning to say is that even if you think you’re ready, the little ones will surely show you that maybe you weren’t as ready for it as you thought you are – don’t know if this makes any sense). We learn as we go 😀

      Like

  4. Pingback: Top 10 posts on China Elevator Stories, post 101-150 | China elevator stories

Leave a Reply

