“Did you have to use guns frequently?”

Illustration by Ruth Silbermayr-Song

Illustration by Ruth Silbermayr-Song

One day in the summer of 2012 I’m in Shangri-la at a restaurant with two acquaintances. My friend has to work and has asked them to take me around town. They have both worked as police officers in the past. Now, they are working as personal secretaries for a government official.

I: “Did you have to use guns frequently?”
A: “I was working in the office mostly, so no.”
B: “I’ve been working in the drug crime investigation department. There are lots of drug related crimes in Yunnan, especially in the border regions close to Myanmar where I was stationed. We had to use guns quite often.”

Seeing that I’m curious about their past jobs as police officers, B takes out his badge and tells me: “I’m still a police officer, but I don’t work in the drug crime investigation department anymore.”

Later that day, they show me around Shangri-la’s beautiful countryside. 25-year-old B seems to be of a rather quiet nature, but except for that nothing much shows that he has been working as a police officer in one of China’s stronghold regions for drug related crimes in the past.

Have you ever met people with outstanding professions? I’d love to read your stories.

Share the love and follow me on facebook, twitter or google+.

One thought on ““Did you have to use guns frequently?”

  1. My brother-in-law used to be a Seattle policeman. When he told my sister stories about his work, many of them were humorous. One day, my husband asked to ride along with him at work. He did not choose a good day. He’d hardly set foot in the police car when an urgent message came through on the radio. A disturbed man was threatening to jump off the Space Needle. Unfortunately, the man followed through on his threat just as my husband and brother-in-law arrived on the scene. It was a terrible sight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

