Guest post for Behind the Story: Apartment Hunting in Shenzhen

Since I’m in need of new guest posts again, I’m publishing a guest post I’ve written for Behind the Story. The face behind Behind the Story is Nicki Chen, an American writer who has been living in the Philippines for 15 years with her Chinese husband and their children. Click here if you haven’t yet read the post Be careful what you teach your kids she has written for me recently. Here’s an excerpt of the one I’ve written for her, which is about apartment hunting in Shenzhen and property agents who weren’t quite that honest with us:

When we went to the apartment to sign the contract, one of the agents waited there with us. He told us that the landlady was late, probably stuck in a traffic jam. After waiting for two hours, we decided to wait at home and let them call us once she arrives. I didn’t think much of it, but my husband had a bad feeling about it. A little later, the property agent called. He told us that the landlady had found another person to rent the flat for the original price. My husband went there to clarify things.

When he came back in the evening, he apologized to me: “I’m sorry, I couldn’t get them to leave it to us. The property agents probably set us up.”

Click here to read the whole post.

I hope that I’ll have another guest post ready for you to read on China Elevator Stories on the Saturday in two weeks. Let me know if you’d like to write one!

Share the love and follow me on facebook, twitter or google+.

Would you also like to write a guest post that is connected to the topic of this blog? Send me an e-mail at chinaelevatorstories{at}gmail.com. I reserve the right to refuse publishing guest posts for any reason.

Leave a Reply

