Guest post for Speaking of China

Since I’m in lack of a new guest post here on China Elevator Stories, today I’m linking to Yin-Yang: On Love, Fighting and Finding Harmony in a Chinese-Western Marriage, a guest post I wrote for Speaking of China. In the article I write about the fact that Y and I did fight a lot month 4-6 into our relationship. This was rather surprising for both of us. Talking with other people who are in intercultural relationships has made me realise that we’re not the only ones who do fight. Here’s an excerpt:

But does that mean that we live in a 100 percent harmonious relationship and never fight? Not so much. We didn’t fight at all during the first three months, the honeymoon phase. But that’s normal. We call it to “wear pink glasses” in German. After that, we fought all the time. Oh boy, did we fight. You could blame it on cultural differences. Or maybe it was us being afraid that we saw something in our partner that he or she simply wasn’t — that we were wrong in assuming that he or she was our soul mate. That’s the thing – when you are in a cross-cultural relationship, you sometimes don’t know if you really see your partner for who he or she is. But although we were fighting a lot and there were lots of tears on my part, I was still happy and content that Y was the one I wanted to marry. Weird, isn’t it?

Check out the whole article here and let us know what you think. Also, check out some of Jocelyn’s other great posts. Her blog Speaking of China where she writes about love, family and relationships in China, including Western women & Chinese men in love is what drew me to reading blogs initially and I think you can call her something like the mother of all AMWF blogs.

I hope that I’ll have another guest post ready for you to read on China Elevator Stories on the Saturday in two weeks.

Share the love and follow me on facebook, twitter or google+.

Would you also like to write a guest post that is connected to the topic of this blog? Send me an e-mail at chinaelevatorstories{at}gmail.com. I reserve the right to refuse publishing guest posts for any reason.

3 thoughts on “Guest post for Speaking of China

  1. Wow this is so true…Or maybe it was us being afraid that we saw something in our partner that he or she simply wasn’t — that we were wrong in assuming that he or she was our soul mate. That’s the thing – when you are in a cross-cultural relationship, you sometimes don’t know if you really see your partner for who he or she is.

    Like

  2. Hey R, thanks for linking back to your guest post and also mentioning my blog! I appreciate it. I really loved your guest post — and you’re always welcome in the future to submit further essays (if you have other insights you’d like to share).

    Like

Leave a Reply

