The Liebster Award and blog recommendations

I’m honoured to have been nominated for the Liebster Award by the writer of the blog Out For A Long Lunch who posts delicious recipes and mouth-watering pics of the dishes (don’t read this blog if you’re hungry, it will make you go mad). Thanks for the nomination!

Liebster is a loving German term and that mean ‘sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome’.

The Liebster Award is kind of a pay-it-forward blogger award.  The rules are:  If you receive one you must answer the 11 questions asked by the blogger who awarded it to you, list 11 random facts about yourself, and then come up with your own 11 questions for the 11 bloggers you choose to bestow the award upon (I chose only 4 bloggers because I couldn’t think of so many blogs with less than 200 followers and I found that it used to be 3-5 bloggers in the beginnings of Liebster Award).

These are the questions I’ve been asked:

  1. Why are you blogging? It makes me happy to write and it’s a nice balance to work. Also, I like to share stories with other people and paint a colourful, multifaceted picture of life in China.
  2. What is your favourite cuisine? If I could choose only one that would probably be Chinese cuisine since it’s so manyfold, I prefer home-cooked dishes to eating at restaurants though.
  3. If you could have one wish, what would it be? I would wish for a clean environment. There would be thousands of problems less if we didn’t do so much harm to our environment.
  4. You have 10 bucks. What do you do with it? I would treat my husband to coffee. He has been working way too much lately and we haven’t had time to go on a date.
  5. What’s your favourite childhood memory? There are plenty, but the funniest one is that of my brother making a labyrinth in the corn fields just outside of our house. The labyrinth was a fun place to be – it seemed like entering a different world. What my brother didn’t consider was that you could see the labyrinth from the second floor of our house  (it was meant to be hidden before the grown ups’ eyes) and that by creating this labyrinth he destroyed quite a bit of the farmer’s harvest.
  6. What is your proudest moment? I wouldn’t say that there is one single moment that makes me proud, but I’m proud of the fact that I do speak Chinese fluently and am sometimes mistaken as a native speaker if people don’t see what I look like. There’s still a long way to go though!
  7. If you could do it all over, what would you be doing right now in your life? I would fall in love all over again with my husband. I would learn Chinese again and I would come to China all over again.
  8. What can you not live without? My graphics tablet (and probably my computer because I can’t use it without my computer). I use it to make illustrations.
  9. Name a thing you would not eat (not because of religious reasons), even if someone pays you lots of money to eat it. Bananas. I don’t know when this started, I surely liked them when I was little, but nowadays just the smell of them makes me nauseous.
  10. If you are given the chance to launch your own perfume, with a condition that it is going to smell like food, what flavour is the main chord going to be? Pomegranate.
  11. If you are a contestant in a cooking pageant – is there one? – and you have to cook something that represents yourself, what would it be? Mango sago in coconut milk.

11 Random Facts About Me

  1. I grew up in the countryside, 500 meters away from the next neighbour
  2. I have 7 brothers and sisters and yes, we all have the same mother and father
  3. I talk in my sleep and not necessarily in German (it seems I sometimes switch to Chinese so my husband can understand it and tell me the next morning)
  4. I’m a highly sensitive person (if you don’t know what that is, check out this page), to some it might seem like I’m introverted, but that’s probably not the right word to describe it
  5. I’m lactose intolerant, that’s why eating out in China is much more of a pleasure for me than eating out in Austria where they put lactose into everything you can imagine
  6. I was once seriously ill with lyme disease (or rather tick-borne diseases) but am happy to say that after 2 years of constant medical treatments I’m finally healthy again
  7. I don’t watch TV, I’m paying for it but have turned it on only twice so far in 9 months
  8. I prefer taking the train in China for 36 hours to being on a 3 hour flight (I’m not afraid of flying, I just don’t like it)
  9. I love having plants at home but they choose to die on a regular basis (that’s the reason why I choose to have plants and not fish)
  10. China has turned me into a 90% vegetarian (90% because you can’t always avoid meat when you order dishes in China and because I have not deliberately chosen to be a complete vegetarian, I just don’t feel like eating meat in China most of the time)
  11. I have a vivid imagination and am great at entertaining myself

3-5 favorite blogs with less than 200 followers (don’t know about the followers, so please don’t be mad at me if I have nominated you and you have more than 200 followers):

1. Reclaim Your Fearlessness by Sarah Li Cain: I came across this blog while searching for other Shenzhen expat blogs. Sarah doesn’t live in Shenzhen anymore, but I love her blog for its optimism (and it rarely is about Shenzhen, but rather much more general about how to lead a self-determined, fearless life). I especially like the following posts (but I can actually recommend all of them):

2. The Good ShufuTracy Slater is a freelance writer who never thought she would fall in love head over heals with a Japanese man. She’s currently working on her memoir that goes by the same name as her blog, A Good Shufu, and here’s what her book and partly her blog are about: “…what happens when you are a Boston-based, skeptical, plan-obsessed, feminist literary academic who meets the love of your life, but being together means you must give up every plan or goal you’ve ever had and essentially forfeit your own world for his.” These are just three of the fabulous posts she has written:

3. Tanya’s Stories: Tanya is an Australian woman who has been living in China for the last 9 years. She’s working with Third Culture Kids. These are my favourite posts:

4. Adventures Around AsiaThis blog is written by Richelle, a recent graduate writing about the crazy stories and misadventures that happen to her in China. She did go back to China only recently, so I’m pretty sure she’ll entertain us with many more funny stories soon. Here is a recent and an older post I like:

5. 100 Sterne und der Mond (in German): This blog features anecdotes from life in South and Central America from the perspective of a European photojournalist.

  • Fliegende Schlangen: The writer tells an elderly guy in a small village in the Andes of Bolivia that there are flying snakes in Europe. Does she mean dragons? No, rather she got lost in translation.
  • 24 Stunden: A friend of the writer has to spend 24 hours in a prison of a Mexican border city for a minor offense and the writer is there when the police take him with them.

Here are my 11 questions for the nominees:

  1. Have you ever regretted starting a blog?
  2. What was your dream job when you were little?
  3. What has been the best experience in your life so far?
  4. Have you ever regretted going abroad? Why?
  5. If you could only take one small backpack with you for traveling, what would you take with you?
  6. What is the most beautiful place you have ever been to?
  7. Is there a moment that has changed your life forever? If so, which one?
  8. What has been the most touching moment in your life so far?
  9. What was your favourite book when you were little?
  10. What is your favourite holiday?
  11. Which language do you dream in?

I hope you’re as happy about the nomination as I was and am sure my readers are all as eagerly looking forward to reading your answers and nominations as I am!

Which blogs would you nominate for the Liebster Award and why? I’d love to read your answers in the comments section.

12 thoughts on “The Liebster Award and blog recommendations

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award and My Favorite Blogs | ADVENTURES AROUND ASIA

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award, Spreading the Love, & Wimping Out on my Fellow Bloggers | thegoodshufu

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely keep up blogging and if the quality gets worse, let me know. Your blog is also one of my favourites and I have learned a lot about blogging by reading it for a few years before starting to blog, so thanks for that!

      Like

  3. Pingback: My Liebster Award | Tanya's Stories

  4. Pingback: Guest post: Unconventional ways of learning Chinese | China elevator stories

  5. Pingback: The Liebster Award and My Favorite Blogs | Adventures Around Asia

Leave a Reply

