“Does it taste good?”

I am sitting in a Lanzhou-style noodle restaurant across the street from my apartment, head bent over a bowl of daoxiaomian. I can feel that somebody is watching me and look up. On the table opposite of mine a guy in his 30s has just paid and is now looking at me. As I look up, he smiles and says: “Hi!”

I don’t say anything, not sure of what he wants.

He goes on: “Does it taste good?”
I: “It does.”
He: “Are you used to the food here?”
I: “Yes, I am.”

Before I can say anything else, he gets up, takes his notebook and leaves the restaurant to get back to work.

Were you ever surprised by the friendliness of a stranger?

For the latest updates you can also follow me on facebook, twitter and/or google+.

2 thoughts on ““Does it taste good?”

Leave a Reply

