“Are you married?”

As I walk down the street looking for the entrance to the supermarket, a guy in his 70s comes up to me.

Chinese grandpa: “Excuse me, I’m looking for Sunshine Western Restaurant, do you know where it is?”
I: “I’m sorry, I don’t. I’m not familiar with this area.
Cg: “Where are you from?”
I: “Austria.”
Cg: “What’s your age? Twenty-something?”
I: “I’m 25.”
Cg: “Are you married?”
I: “No, I’m not.”
Cg: “You should go and find yourself a Chinese guy.”
I: “Oh, I do have a Chinese boyfriend, but I’m not married yet.”
Cg: “You already have a Chinese guy, that’s great. I have to get going. Good-bye!”
I: “Good-bye!”

Have you ever been surprised by the questions you’ve been asked by a stranger?

For the latest updates you can also follow me on facebook, twitter and/or google+.

2 thoughts on ““Are you married?”

  1. Pingback: 1st anniversary of China Elevator Stories | China elevator stories

Leave a Reply

