“What is this?”

I’m at Ikea buying stuff for my apartment. An elderly woman comes up to me, looking curiously at the things in my shopping cart. She points her finger at one thing and asks:

“What is this?”
I: “That’s a chair.”
She: “Where do you find these chairs?”
I: “Over there, right at the back.”
She (pointing her finger at something else): “And what’s that?”
I: “This is a small table.”
She: “Where do you put that?”
I: “It’s for the balcony.”
She: “Oh, I see.”

And off she wanders, enlightened by my Ikea expertise.

Have you ever been considered a foreign expert on imported goods?

For the latest updates you can also follow me on facebook, twitter and/or google+.

3 thoughts on ““What is this?”

  1. Similar dialogues could happen in Austria with elderly ladies in supermarkets^^ I guess, they just want to have a chat… – Anyway, I enjoy reading here, please keep blogging very nuli 😉

    Like

    • You’re right. It did seem like the lady in Ikea was there only for the fun of it rather than for buying furniture. I will keep blogging, there are many more stories to come, I hope you’ll enjoy reading them as much as I do writing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

